Skip navigation

The following is a very lengthy ‘comment’ I was going to leave on a wonderful blog I found, but I instead decided to spare the wall of text there and post it here instead.

@ Samuel:
M$ Silverlight, thankfully, isn’t a standard technology yet. I don’t believe it should ever become one either. Your fondness for M$ makes me question why you believe they ‘treat their customers well’ after the fiasco where they had to be sued to hell (and lose) in multiple class-action lawsuits in order to offer the current ‘warranty’ for their crapware Xbox360s that have the dreaded ‘RROD’ (red ring of death) problem. M$ doesn’t have the customer in mind, as just like any other company they’re all about the money. Their company philosophy/strategy is: Dominate, Integrate, Exterminate, aka ‘DIE’. That’s what they want, they want ZERO competition (or only the weakest competition possible that’s still under their thumb). They want everyone to always use everything made by M$ whether they want to or not. When Vista wasn’t selling worth crap, they FORCED every computer software vendor to have Vista by default on all new computers. When customers started crying about antitrust issues, they offered XP ‘only on low-end computers’ aka netbooks, which is an overglorified term for a laptop that is purely for using the internet and not much else, something you could’ve done with a laptop 15+ years ago. As it is, you can build your own computer and put whatever OS you want on there, as that’s always been an option for people. But its not as cheap as paying Dell or HP or whoever to have a pre-built one. The retail cost of XP alone is designed specifically to discourage ‘do it yourself’ people. I’m glad I got it anyhow, as it allows me the ironic freedom of being able to install it to another computer legally (and using an activation bypass if M$ doesn’t feel they want me to do so) after my existing hardware in this computer craps out.

Flash is utter crap, I admit it. It seems each new version has just managed to be even slower and crappier then before. I remember years ago when Flash was still v6 or something and it was small, fast, and easy to use. That’s why everyone was using it. Of course when advertisers started using Flash for adverts, people got pissed, then they discovered the ‘FlashBlock’ addon for Firefox and life goes on.

PDF is another story. PDF is meant to be an *exact* copy of a document and that’s why they have it as an image. Nobody should ever suffer through having that shitware Adobe Reader on their computer. There’s many free and open-source implementations of PDF readers/editors available. I personally use ‘Foxit PDF Reader’ since they have an income stream and their program has worked better for me then other open-source offerings at the time. But development goes onward so I highly recommend doing a search for free/open-source PDF reader/editor. Try to have one that does both but is freeware or open-source. If not, you can always get a ‘portable’ version of the program that doesn’t install anything.

As for PDF printing, I don’t have experience with it but if some idiot sends you a text-only document as PDF, its fairly trivial now to convert it to ‘RTF’ (rich text format) which should preserve their formatting and such. Or just convert it to HTML and see if printing that way works well. If all else fails then ask the person to resend you the actual text document rather then making you use a PDF. Just say your Adobe Reader is crashing your computer 😉 and they’ll understand, lol.

7 Comments

  1. Silverlight is currently still acceptable to me simply because it enabled Netflix to move away from using only IE as the browser for their awesome watch instantly section.
    As far as forcing Vista goes, I do not blame them for it – they do not want people to continue using an 8 year old OS anymore. Mac gives you the latest version of their OS with any overpriced machine of theirs that you buy too(which does not always necessarily mean it is the best around).
    Having moved to Windows 7 now, I highly recommend it to you. I used to think Vista is not too bad despite the backlash, but Win7 shows me what is possible when M$ does not constantly redo its entire paradigm. Also my version lets me run Virtual XP 🙂 All in all, Win7 completely trumps XP in everyway, and indeed Vista too to an extent.
    For PDF viewing I also recommend PDF Xchange viewer.
    Hope to keep seeing you around 🙂

    • I don’t use NetFlix personally, though knowing that about Silverlight may be a way for it to start being used more often. We’ll see how that works. I personally would rather it be an open format rather then a proprietary one. Even Apple actually sells MP3s of their music now that they realized most people hate DRM’d music.

      As far as Win7 goes, I downloaded and installed the beta and was terribly unimpressed with it. It doesn’t offer me anything that XP doesn’t already offer. The reason I had upgraded from Win98SE to XP was simple…the hardware and RAM limits for 98SE wouldn’t support half the hardware I was planning to put into it.

      Sometime maybe 20 years from now, maybe I might have to be forced to upgrade, but I won’t do so unless I feel the need for it.

      When M$ decided to not allow DirectX10 on XP, they pretty much neutered their primary moneymaker in the PC gaming market. Most developers either stayed with DX9, or offered at least DX9 and DX10 modes. There’s no reason to spend money to make games with DX10 content unless the majority of people playing games would have Vista. As it stands, there’s still more then half of people using XP happily, and I don’t blame em.

      If I build a new computer in the future that is completely unable to function at its best unless I upgrade my OS, then yeah I’ll upgrade. Otherwise I’ll stay happily with XP for the time being. I may end up just keeping this computer as my ‘gaming PC’ for the forseeable future since it runs everything I already have and I don’t plan to purchase any more PC games in the future. PC gaming has become way too filled with DRM and invasive spyware/rootkits in order for game makers that feel they need to ‘protect their IP’. Let them protect it, as I’ll happily keep playing my PS2 till it craps out on me, then go buy a new one for barely $100 when I get a chance.

      The main point I’m making here is that while the ‘new and better’ things may seem like a good idea, sometimes its the tried and true classics that you want to stick around with.

      • Just to gall you further they have are now on DX11 🙂
        Leaving aside PC gaming as a reason to upgrade (to me, its not), here’s why upgrading to Win7 makes sense. XP was released 8-9 years ago. Would you really want to stick with that old a software? To draw parallels, why would people update their Linux kernel, update their Fx, or for that matter update their PC hardware at all? For everyday use (docs/browsing), its not like anything more than 1GHz is really necessary. Its not like old versions of the software don’t work anymore. New versions offer improvements – thats why you move to using them.
        The Win7 beta was not great for me either. I have now installed the final released version (betas, are after all just betas) – and I am VERY impressed. It offers performance, security, compatibility and application improvements that are streets ahead of anything XP can ever hope to have. And any PC you build in the future will definitely suffer for not having an OS that can truly exploit its capabilities. Yes, there is a little curve to learn how to use it best. But its worth it. XP will officially die (lose support/upgrades) sometime next year. It is good sense to not use an OS that is no longer supported by its maker.
        I suggest reading Paul Thurrott’s ongoing review of Windows 7 to see what a HUGE difference Win 7 brings to the table.

        • seasonalmadness
        • Posted October 10, 2009 at 08:03
        • Permalink

        If I didn’t know any better, I’d think you were being paid by M$ to promote Win7 so much.
        Yes, eventually I may have to upgrade, but it won’t be for a long ass time 😉

  2. Forgot to add the line that PC gaming has been dying for a while. There is a significant advantage to console games – building a PC that has their capabilities is very tough. Plus you don’t really care about DRM on console games (its baked right into it). The PS2 will disappear soon – sadly the PS line does not want to have backward compatibility. Which sucks. But is a direct result of completely updating PS hardware. Catch-22 could not have put it better 🙂

    • The day I give up my PS2 and software library of games for it is the day they bury me 6 feet under.
      Fuck progress and fuck Sony. I got that PS2 as a gift (along with the games) so I’m going to cherish it as long as is reasonably possible.
      Good consoles NEVER die. Dreamcast is still alive via homebrew, and even the original Nintendo (or a top-loading version) can be found on ebay at times or at various garage sales.
      I may go ahead and get me a Slimline PS2 and put it in storage for the day that this one completely craps out on me, I dunno. But I’m not fond of the PS3 or the recycled crap they’d put out for years before finally dropping the price and getting some decent games going.

      As it stands I have enough gaming to last a lifetime 😉

  3. No, no, I’m not paid by M$ to do any of the “marketing” I’m doing. Its just that I find people have not really thought of whether it is possible for M$ to improve on XP, and they stick with it. However it is never good to remain stuck on an ancient OS – no matter how good you find it. Nobody need ever have moved on from Win95 in that case 🙂


Leave a Reply

